Inverted Spring

We lay there with leaves drifting down
shriveled little curls of brown
whispering It’s our time as they fell
from autumn’s aureate canopy
golden veins in folded bodies
with some precious secret in the hollows.

I dreamed in rhyme
and of colder times merely hoped for
you and I among the greats
hand to hand
and eye to eye
for the second time in our life-

and he breathed in, sleeping leaves in his hair
eyes fantastic blue, and mused
you can’t change the past, y’know?

Yes
I know,
or if I forget
then the vacuity in my dreams reminds me
there’s no you in my past or present fall
or any future I can see
there’s no drifting, dazzling, sempiternal
-we-

will keep turning midair
sunset shining through our edges
caught in a persistent wind
a great skyward heave of clotted air
and spectrum-hued trees-

6 thoughts on “Inverted Spring

  1. Oh, this is beautiful.
    I also learnt a new word – aureate – how wonderful.

    “I dreamed in rhyme
    and of colder times merely hoped for (rhyme, time – perfect)
    you and I among the greats
    hand to hand
    and eye to eye
    for the second time in our life- (slant rhyme works well)

    and he breathed in, sleeping leaves in his hair
    eyes fantastic blue, and mused
    you can’t change the past, y’know?

    Yes
    I know,” (<and this! I love the stone hard emphasis!)

    The leaves, the season falling down, falling past, hand in hand with the present moment – you convey it very well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Goodness, thank you for reading and for such a thoughtful compliment. The things you noted about it were the things I hesitated on, but experimenting with different tropes is quite fun. Thanks again for your feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

